Individual Artist Fellowships

2017 Grant Guidelines

The Greater Columbus Arts Council established the GCAC/City of Columbus Grants Program in 1973 to offer financial support to the city’s artists and arts organizations. Since 1978, a portion of city revenues from the hotel/motel tax has been designated for support of the Arts Community.

The Individual Artist Fellowship programs provide unrestricted grants to artists of outstanding talent and ability who currently live in the city of Columbus and/or Franklin County, and have done so for at least one year.

Since the Arts Council’s Individual Artist Fellowship program was established in 1986 to recognize outstanding local artists, more than 210 awards in a variety of disciplines. Programs have included visual arts, crafts, film and video, creative writing, music composition and choreography/movement arts.


The Individual Artist Fellowship program recognizes outstanding artists in Franklin County by awarding fellowships in a variety of artistic disciplines. Awards are offered in Visual Arts (2D, 3D, photography, and crafts), Media Arts, Dance/Choreography, Literature and Playwright each year.

How to Apply

Choral Composition Fellowship

No current applications


No current applications


Visual Arts

No current applications

Literary Arts

No current applications


Columbus Dance Theatre, in partnership with the Greater Columbus Arts Council, will present the Columbus Dances Fellowships. The fellowship awards are designed to support local choreographers in their efforts to create new dance in the Columbus community. Fellowships will be awarded to five (5) choreographers whose work will be presented as an extension of Columbus Dance Theatre’s annual community dance concert, Columbus Dances. Monetary and space grants will be awarded as part of the fellowships.

Applicants must have an interest in developing new work and will create works using dancers from the greater Columbus community for fellowship consideration. Successful applicants will have their works produced by CDT in its home performance space, The Fisher Theatre during a weekend of performances free to the public.

Choreographers are to submit new, original dances 7-15 minutes in length in any style. Solo and group works will be considered. Works shown must not have been previously produced in another venue.

Dances must be shown by the performer(s) who will appear in the final presentation.

5 Choreographers will be chosen by the panel to participate in a weekend of concerts at Columbus Dance Theatre.  Choreographers must reside in Franklin County and be at least 18 years of age to be eligible for consideration.

An open adjudication will be held on January 21, 2017 at 3 p.m. at Columbus Dance Theatre’s Fisher Theatre. An adjudication time slot must be scheduled by Saturday, January 14, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. No late appointments or walk-ins. To schedule an appointment for adjudication, contact Seth Wilson at 614-849-0227,, or Christian Broomhall

It is recommended that choreographers show at least 3 minutes of work in progress at the time of the adjudication.   Finished dances may be shown, but they must not have been previously produced in another venue.

Awards: 5 Choreographers will each be awarded fellowships of $2000.  This is a comprehensive award.  Choreographers will determine the use of these funds at their discretion (dancer’s salaries, costumes, music, etc.)  Choreographers will be granted rehearsal space at CDT for the 6 week period prior to the presentation of Columbus Dances.

Click here to view the full guidelines.

Media Arts

No current applications