Skip to main content


in Press Releases January 20, 2011 2 min read

Columbus, Ohio – 2011 will mark the 50th Anniversary of the Columbus Arts Festival presented by Time Warner Cable. To celebrate this momentous occasion, local artists from Franklin and surrounding counties were called to submit designs for the 50th Anniversary Columbus Arts Festival Commemorative Print.

The winner, selected by more than 2200 public votes was Amy Neiwirth of Columbus. She received 652 votes for her piece Columbus in Color.  To view Neiwirth’s winning entry click here.

Neiwirth is a visual artist and art educator. She received her BFA, Magna Cum Laude with Distinction, from The Ohio State University in June 2003. She continued her studies in the Art Education Masters/Licensure program at OSU, receiving her teaching license in August 2005 and her MA in December 2008. She currently teaches art for grades K-12 at Columbus Torah Academy.

Neiwirth’s artwork typically explores themes of memory and food. She works using a variety of artistic media, including paint, paper, polymer clay, simple modeling compounds, and found objects. Amy also creates confectionery jewelry pieces for her small business, Sweet Stella Designs. Niewirth is a member of several local arts groups including the Couchfire Collective, the Columbus Crafty Cotillion, CAW: Creative Arts of Women, and the Ohio Art League.

Neiwirth will receive $1,000, VIP passes to the Festival, associated merchandise and a complimentary booth space at the 2011 Columbus Arts Festival. The other top nine artists each receive $100.

The other finalists were: David Browning, Katherine Crowley, Jennifer Deehan, Marty Husted, Alan Jazak, Jen Kiko, Lynda McClanahan, Gwendolyn Scott and Amy Kaye Taylor.

Jurors for the selection of the top 10 designs included Shelley Mann, editor of Columbus alive!, Jerry Gilmore and Aaron Hequembourg, two of the Columbus Arts Festival jurors. The top 10 finalists selected by the jury were placed on the Columbus alive! Web site for the people’s choice vote.

The Columbus Arts Festival presented by Time Warner Cable will be held June 3, 4 & 5, 2011. Hours are 11:30 a.m. to 10 p.m. Friday, June 3 and Saturday, June 4 and 11:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Sunday, June 5. Participating artists will be announced in mid-February. For more information visit The Columbus Arts Festival is presented by Time Warner Cable. Additional sponsors to date are American Electric Power, State Auto, Bella Giardino, Coca-Cola and Glazer’s. Media sponsors include alive! WBNS 10TV, WOSU, CD101@102.5FM, WCBE 90.5FM, WMNI/Classic Hits 103.9 FM.

About the Greater Columbus Arts Council: Through vision and leadership, advocacy and collaboration, the Greater Columbus Arts Council supports art and advances the culture of the region. A catalyst for excellence and innovation, GCAC funds exemplary artists and arts organizations and provides programs, events and services of public value that educate and engage all audiences in our community. GCAC thanks the City of Columbus, Franklin County and the Ohio Arts Council for their continued support.

CONTACT: Jami Goldstein
(614) 221-8492